Shortlist announced for Broadland Community at Heart Awards

Award winners 2015
Community at Heart Award Winners in 2015

Published: Friday, 14th October 2016

The shortlist of nominees has been announced for this year’s Broadland Community at Heart Awards, sponsored by The Space and The Romanian Wine Company.

The Broadland Community at Heart Awards' 11 categories celebrate and reward those in the district’s communities who go above and beyond what is expected of them.

Invitations to the awards have been sent to the 30 nominees who have made an exceptional contribution to their communities, from achieving highly in sport to providing an important service to local people.

Cllr Andrew Proctor, Leader of Broadland District Council said

“Thank you to all who made a nomination to the Broadland Community at Heart Awards. Once again, all the judges have been very impressed with the quality of nominations we have received which made choosing a shortlist a very difficult task. Congratulations to all of the shortlisted nominees, I look forward to meeting everyone at the ceremony later this month.”

The awards ceremony will be held on Wednesday 26 October at The Space in Sprowston. Winners will be announced here and on Twitter @BroadlandDC.

Shortlisted nominees
Personal Courage of the Year

Michael Palmer
John Graves

Young Person of the Year

Anush Patel
Megan Blazer
Ryan Bedwell-Woods

Volunteer of the Year

Christine Chapman
Sylvia Barwick
Kath Evans

Carer of the Year

Charlotte Moore
Sherena Skedge
Christine Cutting

Community Group of the Year

The place, Thorpe St Andrew
Tiny Tots Lingwood
Burgh Reading Room Social Committee
Broadland Rocks Community Choir

Sporting Achievement of the Year

Lawn Bowls over 60s fours team, County Arts
Amelia Williamson
Jonathan Drane

Safer Broadland Award

PC Andy Dye
Angela Bishop and the Acle Community Resilience Group

Good Neighbour or Friend of the Year

Mike Ellard
Edwin Rose
Sid Parkin

Environmental Champion of the Year

Trevor Taberham and Fairhaven Woodand and Water Garden
Greg Chandler
Friends of Cremer’s Meadow

Business Community Support of the Year

White Horse Development Trust, Upton
Panther Brewery, Reepham
The Original Cottage Company, Reepham

Outstanding Achievement of the Year Award - Alfie Hewett

This award has been created specially by the judges to recognise Alfie’s incredible sporting achievements in wheelchair tennis over the past year.

Also see