New chairman for Broadland District Council

Broadland District Council Chairman 2018 2019 Judy Leggett

Published: Tuesday, 15th May 2018

Cllr Andrew Proctor has been appointed Leader of Broadland District Council for an eighth year, with Cllr Judy Leggett being appointed the new Chairman of the Council.

Cllr Proctor leads a council consisting of 41 Conservative and five Liberal Democrat members. There is currently one vacancy for Aylsham ward.

The existing cabinet has been re-appointed with portfolio holders as follows: Economic Development and Deputy Leader, Cllr Stuart Clancy; Finance, Cllr Trudy Mancini-Boyle; Environmental Excellence, Cllr John Fisher; Communities and Housing, Cllr Roger Foulger; Planning, Cllr Shaun Vincent. 

Cllr Proctor said: "It is a real privilege to be leader and it is an honour to be re-elected for the eighth consecutive year.

"I am extremely proud to work for and represent the Broadland area. These are exciting times for our district and we will continue looking forward and planning for a future that benefits residents."

Cllr Judy Leggett was appointed Chairman following a year as Vice Chairman. She represents Sprowston East and brings many years of experience to the role. 

"It is a great pleasure and honour to have been elected as Chairman of the Council," said Cllr Leggett.

"As Member Champion for Young People, I am passionate about being part of the Broadland Youth Advisory Board and I am committed to giving young people a voice in their communities.

"I am looking forward to representing the Council at community events and functions throughout the district."

She takes over from Cllr David Ward. Cllr Karen Vincent was elected Vice Chairman. 

At Broadland's Annual Meeting this evening, Cllr Ward presented a cheque for £1,500 to Age UK Norfolk, which was his chosen charity during his chairmanship.

Also see