New Chairman for Broadland District Council

Published: Friday, 12th May 2017

Councillor Andrew Proctor was appointed Leader of Broadland District Council for a seventh year on Thursday 11th May, 2017.

He leads a council consisting of 41 Conservative and five Liberal Democrat members.

The existing cabinet has been re-appointed with portfolio holders as follows: Economic Development and Deputy Leader, Cllr Stuart Clancy; Finance, Cllr Trudy Mancini-Boyle; Environmental Excellence, Cllr John Fisher; Communities and Housing, Cllr Roger Foulger; Planning, Cllr Shaun Vincent.

Cllr Proctor said:

"It was an honour and privilege when I was elected as leader of the Council six years ago and it's as much of an honour and privilege to be elected again today. Broadland is an outward facing organisation looking forward and planning for the future."

He added that effective partnerships would be key.

"To me, our biggest challenge is how we ensure we work better together for the future."

Cllr David Ward was appointed Chairman following a year as Vice Chairman. He represents Burlingham and brings a many years experience to the role. Cllr Ward has been a parish councillor since 1999 in Blofield, where he has held the role of chairman several times.

Cllr Ward said he felt privileged to have been granted the honour of serving as Chairman of Broadland District Council and wants to make a difference to residents.

Cllr Ward said:

"My reason for becoming a councillor 18 years ago was to help people in the area and that still stands today. As Member Champion for Older People, I am involved in setting up the Broadland Dementia Action Alliance (DAA) and I am committed to helping those with dementia in Broadland live better in their communities."

He takes over from Cllr John Ward. Cllr Judy Leggett was elected Vice Chairman.

Also see