Coronavirus - If you are a resident and need support relating to Covid-19 please call Norfolk County Council on 0344 8008020. — We are currently asking people to only come into our offices for essential visits. Where possible, people should contact us by phone or email or through our website. For up-to-date information about our services and links to useful advice, see our Coronavirus page

Leadership of the Council


The Chairman of the Council is a civic role held by a Councillor for one year. He or she is elected at the Council's Annual General Meeting in May.

The Chairman's main duty is to preside over principal meetings of the Council to ensure that business is carried out efficiently and effectively. As Chairman, he or she cannot be a member of Cabinet but can be a member of other committees.

The current Chairman is Councillor Karen Vincent, her term of office runs from 21 May 2019 to 14 May 2020. The Council's Vice Chairman is Councillor Roger Foulger.

The Chairman represents the Council at community events within the District and at civic and ceremonial functions hosted by other organisations.

If you wish to invite the Chairman to attend an event please contact the Committee Team by emailing [email protected] or calling 01603 430428.

The Chairman's chosen charity for 2019-20 is the Big C.